Overview 1. EGF WG 2. EGF WG 3. EGF WG

3. EGF WG: "Green effects of dairy farming"

Date: Sunday 29 August

Place: Campus Kiel University, hall K in the Audimax. Christian-Albrechts-Platz 2, 24118 Kiel

Program:

The pre-conference workshop is an initiative of the EGF working group "Dairy farming Systems and Environment", the EGF working group "Grassland resowing and arable rotations", the INTERREG IVa project "Ressource efficiency of milk production" (2010-2013) and the INTERREG NWE project "DAIRYMAN" (2009-2013).

The working groups and DAIRYMAN focus on environmental effects of dairying (field level and farm level). The objective of the workshop is to present and discuss:

Speakers are asked to send the power point presentation and a word-file with additional information, for a better understanding of the sheets, to sjaak.conijn@wur.nl or frans.aarts@wur.nl. They will make hand outs, available at the start of the workshop. Presentations and main aspects of the discussions will be brought together into one report and sent to the participants.

9.00Welcome to the participants, targets, procedures and program
9.10Soil quality as influenced by crop rotations. Nick van Eekeren [n.vaneekeren@louisbolk.nl]
9.50 Effects of grassland resowing and grass-arable rotations on nitrate leaching Ralf Loges, Maria Schmeer and Friedhelm Taube [ftaube@email.uni-kiel.de]
10.30Break
11.00 Contribution of dairy farming to global GHG emissions Theun Vellinga, FA0 [theun.vellinga@wur.nl]
11.45 Impact of sward type (fertilized grass; legume/grass) and soil compaction on GHG emissions Ralf Loges, Maria Schmeer, Klaus Dittert and Friedhelm Taube [ftaube@email.uni-kiel.de]
12.30Lunch
13.30 Dairy production in Schleswig Holstein and its GHG emissions Werner Lüpping (Landwirtschaftskammer Schleswig Holstein) [wluepping@lksh.de]
14.00 The CONVIS-method for quantifying GHG emissions from live stock farming Rocco Lioy and Jeff Boonen [jeff.boonen@lta.lu]
14.30Methods and results of research on GHG emissions from dairy farms in Walloon Michael Mathot [michael.mathot@uclouvain.be] and Didier Stilmant [mailto:stilmant@cra.wallonie.be]
15.00Break
15.30 Methods and results of research on GHG emissions from dairy farms in France Armelle Gac [Armelle.Gac@inst-elevage.asso.fr] and Jean-Baptiste Dolle [Jean-Baptiste.Dolle@inst-elevage.asso.fr]
16.00 Methods and results of research on GHG emissions from dairy farms in Ireland Mingjia Yan [Mingjia.yan@ucdconnect.ie], Nick Holden [Nick.holden@ucd.ie] and James Humphreys [James.Humphreys@teagasc.ie]
16.30 Methods and results of research on GHG emissions from dairy farms in the Netherlands Leon Sebek [leon.sebek@wur.nl]
17.00 Discussion: needs and possibilities of a standardized methodology to calculate GHG-emissions from dairy farms in Europe (alternative for IPPC)
17.30Concluding remarks/ follow up of the meeting/agreements/report to EGF/closure

We intend to gather all the presentations and main aspects of the discussions in a report. Therefore we ask the speakers to send us in advance the power point presentation and a word-file with additional information for a better understanding of the sheets. We will make this information available for the participants at the start of the workshop.

Contact:

Frans Aarts (frans.aarts@wur.nl)
Sjaak Conijn (sjaak.conijn@wur.nl)